Intelligence. Accountability. Analysis.
Est. 2022 · Washington, D.C.
The Congressional Times
We follow the data, not the narrative
◆ Live Intelligence
Loading...
Analysis Loading today's analysis...
Federal Policy

Court Orders $11 Billion in Student Loan Relief for 170,000 Defrauded Borrowers

An appellate court's rejection of the Education Department's delay request accelerates a class-action settlement rooted in the first Trump administration, placing billions in legally mandated debt...

The Congressional Times · August 3, 2026

A federal appellate court has ordered the U.S. Department of Education to cancel approximately $11 billion in federal student loan debt owed by more than 170,000 borrowers who submitted claims alleging they were defrauded by their schools, according to a report by The New York Times published on or before August 3, 2026. The court rejected the Department's request for additional time to review the claims, requiring the agency to proceed with the discharges.

The relief stems from a class-action lawsuit originally filed during President Donald Trump's first term in office. The suit named dozens of for-profit and predatory institutions as defendants, with borrowers asserting that those schools made material misrepresentations that induced them to take out federal loans, according to The New York Times' account of the litigation record. The legal mechanism used is Borrower Defense to Repayment, a federal program established under the Higher Education Act that allows borrowers to seek discharge of federal loans when a school's misconduct is demonstrated.

The appellate court's ruling represents the latest in a series of judicial decisions granting mass relief in the case. The New York Times reported that prior rounds of discharge approvals have been issued under both the Biden and Trump administrations, making this an ongoing legal obligation rather than a discretionary executive action. The precise appellate court issuing the most recent ruling and its full docket number were not specified in available source material; those details would be contained in the court's published order.

The total cumulative dollar figure of all prior discharges in this class-action proceeding is not specified in the available source material. The full administrative cost to the federal student loan portfolio — including any projected impact on the Department of Education's credit subsidy accounts — has not been publicly detailed in documents reviewed for this report. The Department of Education's official response to the court's denial of its delay request, and any plan to appeal further, is unknown as of the date of this publication; a formal agency statement or subsequent court filing would clarify the government's next legal steps.

Borrowers who attended the schools named in the class-action suit and who submitted Borrower Defense applications are the direct beneficiaries of the order. Eligibility criteria, timelines for discharge processing, and the list of covered institutions are matters of public record available through the Department of Education's Federal Student Aid office and the court's case management filings.

Today's Analysis
Loading...
Latest Intelligence
Congressional Intelligence
Loading...
Financial Intelligence
Loading...
Geopolitical Intelligence
Loading...
Follow the MoneyGab-E Political Intelligence Investigation
Loading...
Opinion & Analysis
Loading...
Archive
Loading...
About
Our Mission

We Follow the Data, Not the Narrative

The Congressional Times exists because public records are public — and the analysis built from them should not be exclusive to those who can afford $60,000-a-year intelligence subscriptions.

Every story published in The Congressional Times is sourced to a verifiable public record: a court filing, a Senate lobbying disclosure, an FEC contribution record, a USASpending contract, or a verified news report. We state our sources inline. We show our math. When we are wrong, we say so publicly.

We do not editorialize in news coverage. We do not use loaded language. Both political parties are held to identical standards.

The Follow the Money investigations are the heart of this publication. Each begins with Gab-E Political Intelligence running against 10+ million government records before a single word of editorial is written.

Powered by Gab-E, an elite global intelligence platform built to democratize political and financial intelligence.

Editorial Policy
Editorial Standards & Corrections Policy

How We Source, Verify, and Correct Our Work

Every factual claim in a Congressional Times story is checked against a primary source: a government filing, a court record, a direct quote, before publication. When a claim can't be verified or doesn't hold up as originally reported, we drop it or reframe it. We do not publish disputed claims as settled fact.

When we get it wrong: we correct the story directly, note the correction and date at the bottom of the piece, and update the record. We do not quietly edit and move on.

Bylines: stories with a named byline are written and fact-checked by that person. Stories without a byline are sourced from Gab-E Political Intelligence, our automated research platform, and are labeled as such.

Ownership: The Congressional Times is published by Gab-E Holdings LLC. Gab-E, our intelligence platform, powers our sourcing and research pipeline.

Corrections or concerns: support@gab-e.com