Trump Donor's Firm Received $1.7 Million No-Bid Federal Contract for Reflecting Pool
A direct award without competitive bidding raises questions about procurement compliance under Federal Acquisition Regulation thresholds, though the underlying business relationship and legal...
The federal government awarded a $1.7 million contract to a company owned by a donor to President Donald Trump for the installation of a new water cleaning system at the Lincoln Memorial Reflecting Pool, according to records reported by CBS News on June 19, 2026. The contract was issued as a no-bid, or sole-source, award, bypassing the standard competitive procurement process required by the Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) for contracts above the simplified acquisition threshold of $250,000.
Under FAR Part 6, agencies awarding sole-source contracts above $750,000 must publish a Justification and Approval (J&A) document on SAM.gov explaining the statutory basis for waiving competition. The CBS News report does not specify whether such a J&A was filed or which of the six statutory exceptions under 41 U.S.C. § 3304 was cited. A search of USASpending.gov for the contract award number would identify the awarding agency, the specific procurement vehicle used, and any attached justification documentation.
The donor relationship between the company's owner and President Trump was identified in Federal Election Commission (FEC) filings, according to CBS News. The report does not specify the total amount donated, the specific FEC filing or committee involved, or the dates of contributions. Those details are publicly searchable through the FEC's campaign finance database at FEC.gov using the donor's name.
No-bid contracts are legal under federal procurement law when specific conditions are met, including unique technical capability, national security considerations, or urgent and compelling circumstances. The practice is used by administrations of both parties. A USASpending.gov analysis published in 2024 found that sole-source awards represented approximately 17 percent of total federal contract obligations across agencies in fiscal year 2023, a figure consistent with prior administrations.
Several material facts remain unknown from currently available public records. These include: the name of the federal agency that issued the contract, the specific sole-source justification filed or exemption claimed, the timeline from donor contribution to contract award, and whether any contracting officer ethics review was conducted. The full contract file, including any J&A document, performance work statement, and conflict-of-interest certifications, would be obtainable via a Freedom of Information Act request to the awarding agency or through a USASpending.gov contract detail search using the award identification number cited in the underlying CBS News report.